Co-op Cashier Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Co-op Cashier Reviews

Updated Nov 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
98%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Co-op CEO Steve Murrells
Steve Murrells
1 Ratings
  1. "Working at co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Co-op full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, decent hours if you stick with it long enough.

    Cons

    You put up with the same stuff as any jobs, lazy coworkers, closing shifts etc.

    Co-op2019-10-13
  2. "Rubbish"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can’t think of any

    Cons

    Rubbish environment. Poor management

    Co-op2019-11-01
  3. "Sales/cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Paddockwood, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    HR does a good job of hiring team oriented people

    Cons

    Pay tops out low at smaller locations. Very seniority based, as opposed to skill based.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Co-op2018-03-12
  4. "Good experience working at co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checkout Cashier in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and friendly management

    Cons

    Long hours and fast-paced work

    Co-op2017-11-10
  5. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Bristol, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time

    Pros

    Finished at 3pm. Some nice staff

    Cons

    Badly paid. Terrible working condition. Treated badly

    Advice to Management

    A company who advertises being ethical are far from it with their staff

    Co-op2016-08-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "It's fallen apart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Usk, Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff all ways ready to help when they can do so, good range of food products and sometimes good deals are on offer.

    Cons

    Well lack of staff, the current staff that are there is being stretched to the limits, with ridiculous hours and been contracted to 9 hours and doing 40 hours overtime and struggling throughout the day with just 3 people in the shop. The mangment needs to sort this out other wise that place is gonna run down and people will stop going there which is a shame because it is a lovely store, but actions need to be... taken.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    All management are lovely but they need to stop ringing people after all ready doing a shift or been working 5 days straight 9 hour long shifts and ringing them on there only day off.

    Co-op2016-03-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Management ruin the workforce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Co-op part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, friendly and social atmosphere

    Cons

    Staff are over worked and undervalued, low hour Contracts but usually plenty of overtime which means non existent holidays (I was employed on a 10 hour a week contract however worked full time most weeks and my years holiday allowance was only 40 hours!) Some management are OK but on the whole the majority are only out for themselves and could not care less about lower level staff. Any issues with management will... not be taken seriously. Less staff employed however more work is expected to be done. Made to work any shift they put you down for. No progression opportunities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look after staff better !!

    Co-op2016-03-01
  8. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Edgware, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Co-op part-time

    Pros

    We do have a very good cooperation with staff and manager.some manager are very strict to the staff and others don't for my last few years I did have a very good relationship with the management strictness in a very good way I do miss everything about working with co-op,people atmosphere surrounding and most of all my relationship with the customer it's like a family shop.

    Cons

    Not enough display for the customer own choosing ,and sometimes luck of ability to communicate to the customer I've seen a lot for my 23 years service .

    Advice to Management

    Give a bit of training before, not to much pressure give them(the staff)a little time to adjust themselves .

    Co-op2015-10-11
  9. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Sales Associate/Cashier in York, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Co-op

    Pros

    Sociable hours and warm welcoming staff

    Cons

    Only closed on Xmas day

    Co-op2015-10-11
  10. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Watchet, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Co-op part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's like you are working with your family. You get to know the customers and they get to know you.

    Cons

    Not always enough hours. The stores can be a bit small too. It's hard to meet all the need of the profit targets.

    Advice to Management

    Allow more hours for the employees. All employers need to be made the most of their skills. Need to be more opportunity for the employees to climb up the ladder

    Co-op2015-10-09
Found 10 reviews