Centro Reviews

Updated 13 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Centro Founder & CEO Shawn Riegsecker
Shawn Riegsecker
210 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The bonus structure changed almost yearly, never to the benefit of anyone who wasn't upper management(in 8 reviews)

  • "Company is growing rapidly and as a result it seems some policies are enforced differently by department, creating a inconsistency(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Cares about employees!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analytics Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Best benefits anywhere Flexible Great opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    no downsides. amazing place to work!

  2. "It was a good company and had great staff"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Agent in Cairo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Centro full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a good job

    Cons

    It had no downsides at all


  3. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Centro full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great culture, benefits and people.

    Cons

    Weak data and analytics team

    Centro Response

    July 9, 2020Centro

    Thank you for your feedback and for your time here at Centro! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the benefits and the culture and people around you when you were here. As you know, our leadership team works hard to build and cultivate a strong and collaborative team in every department. If you have any additional feedback or ideas on our data and analytics team, please email us at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent and Development

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great Benefits, Lacks Diversity & Competitive Pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Centro provides some great benefits to their employees including unlimited time off, tons of free food, and a sabbatical.

    Cons

    Entry and mid-level salaries for most of the company are far from competitive. Promotions are given based on favoritism and it's difficult to navigate unless your team and manager are favorites. Centro also has an alarming lack of diversity for such a "progressive" company that brags about their culture. Almost every POC I knew quit during my tenure.

    Continue reading

    Centro Response

    July 9, 2020Centro

    We appreciate you sharing with your thoughts with us! We are glad that you enjoyed the benefits that we provide to our employees, as we constantly strive to create a work-life balance to help Centrons become the best version of themselves. We are saddened to hear about your experience with our pay, promotions, and DEI efforts however. We remain incredibly dedicated to diversity, equity, and inclusion for all of our employees, and continuously strive for improvement in this area as it is essential for our culture. Our goals surround not just attracting a more diverse candidate pipeline but also ensuring they feel comfortable, safe and welcome when they get through the door. We continue to introduce new ways for our employees and leadership to become self aware through training and company-wide discussions and dialogue surrounding race and inclusion. Our employee-led Community Groups (ERGs) continue to help our company improve through awareness education and a safe space for their communities to gather and support each other. We acknowledge we have a lot of work to do though to improve Centro’s diversity, and the diversity of our industry altogether, and we are taking action on a wide scale. If you have any additional feedback or questions, we would appreciate hearing from you at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent and Development

  5. COVID-19
    Helpful (5)

    "This place is truly special."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prefer Not to Say 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    For future readers, I am writing this during the COVID-19 pandemic. The world is confronting something very terrifying at the moment, and it is sending shockwaves throughout the global economy and inciting a lot of fear, panic and distrust. It is a scary and uncertain time for families and businesses everywhere. Moments like this force you to take stock of what you are grateful for, and while I'll be the first to admit this is a weird time to write a Glassdoor review, I feel compelled to share what's happening here at Centro through the lens of my inbox. - Nearly overnight Centro assembled a taskforce of people to equip everyone the tools and info necessary to work remotely. We are a tech and services company that grew up on the internet, so it's easy to take this for granted. However, the speed and transparency and effort that went into making this easy for everyone is something I am personally grateful for. - Our CEO has scheduled multiple meetings to keep us updated on basic info about the virus, and how its growing across the world. At a time when there is a lot of mixed info in the media, and people aren't operating with the same level of concern - this is incredible. You may read from others about Centro's values around transparency and its care for its employees. It is real. - We are individually isolated but the culture is THRIVING. Within days, new inter-office chat rooms have sprung up. Office-wide Happy Hours are being hosted via webcam. People are sending out daily tips on productivity or working out from their living rooms. Heartfelt team-wide notes to inspire eachother. Equally inspirational videos of dogs and cats and babies working on laptops. We may be isolated, but we have never been more unified. - Centro has a nation-wide committe that organizes Centro's philanthropy called "The Giving Tree". It also matches some personal donations. This has been in overdrive in recent days. On and on and on. In all of this, I have no idea what comes next. No one does. But I thank God for the people here and places like this. Thank you, Centro.

    Cons

    We are services-oriented company. Building our own tech. In the Advertising Sector. In 2020. Expect all of the inherent challenges that come with that.

    Continue reading

    Centro Response

    April 10, 2020Centro

    Thank you for your heartfelt words and appreciation! Centro has always been a special place, and that is only more evident in times of crisis when we come together, support each other, and persevere. Although this is a scary and uncertain time for us all, we continue to believe that transparency and doing the right thing in regards to the happiness, safety, and health of our people and their families is a top priority. You said it best – we’ll get through this together! If you have any additional thoughts, feel free to email us at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent and Development

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Best Decision I've Ever Made"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They truly empower us to be the expert in our field. They care! I've never felt more appreciated. Leadership across the company in on point. Work, life balance is truly a thing here. Benefits are great!

    Cons

    I would't say there really are any true cons, we all have bad days and nothing is perfect. But I have zero regrets coming to Centro.

    Continue reading

    Centro Response

    April 10, 2020Centro

    Thank you for your kind feedback! One of our proudest accomplishments is that our people feel empowered, appreciated, and supported. We’re excited to continue to set the example in the industry with people like you on the team! If you have any additional feedback or questions, please email us at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent and Development

  7. Helpful (4)

    "Not fit for their “culture”"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Centro full-time

    Pros

    Snacks and whatever free food they have.

    Cons

    This is a great company to work for if you are white. If you are not white you will not fit their work culture. I would say POC beware working here since there is a lot racial tensions and exclusions. Everyone is fake nice, like high school type of behavior.

    Centro Response

    April 10, 2020Centro

    We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us and are saddened to hear that you experienced the culture around you in this way. We remain incredibly dedicated to diversity, equity, and inclusion for all of our employees, and are constantly striving for improvement and forward motion in these areas as they are absolutely essential to our company. Our employee-led Community Groups (ERGs), company-wide ‘Centro Conversations,’ which open up dialogue around diversity topics, and employee surveys are among the avenues that we have provided over the last year in hopes that all employees feel more supported, heard, and included. Additionally, a DEI task force was formed to ensure that time and energy is continuously being put behind our DEI goals and initiatives. We acknowledge there is room for improvement, and we are taking action on a wide scale. We are very open to ideas and feedback around how to keep the momentum headed in the right direction and would like to hear any additional feedback or specific examples if you are open to sharing them. Please email us at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent and Development

  8. "Good"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Senior Human Resources Generalist 

    I have been working at Centro full-time

    Pros

    good management and people to work with

    Cons

    need more communication and time off and value

    Centro Response

    February 26, 2020Centro

    Thank you for your feedback! We’re glad that the people and management stand out to you – they are the backbone of Centro! Please don’t hesitate to reach out to your manager (or me directly) if you have any questions about our flexible time off policy or any of our other benefits or development programs – we want to make sure our employees feel in the know about everything that’s available to them. If you have any additional feedback or questions, please email us at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent and Development

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Believe in the Product Centro Sells"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Centro provides opportunity for personal growth, provides its internal teams with endless marketing and sales resources and has an amazing product (Basis). I left Centro for another opportunity and ended up coming back a year later.

    Cons

    The regional offices don't always get the perks of the larger hubs, but that's the case at most companies.

    Continue reading

    Centro Response

    December 6, 2019Centro

    Welcome back! We loved hearing your thoughts about Basis – thank you for your feedback. We truly believe Basis will change the industry, so giving our people the right resources to sell it is a no-brainer! Speaking of resources, we’re really proud of the perks and benefits we provide and are always open to hearing new ideas for our employees in different regions. If you have any ideas or additional thoughts, please email us at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent and Development

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great!"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Manager 

    I have been working at Centro full-time

    Pros

    Great people and great leadership

    Cons

    Adtech is a very competitive landscape, it is hard to stand out.

    Centro Response

    December 6, 2019Centro

    Thanks you for getting in touch and sharing your thoughts. We think our people and leadership are pretty great too 😊 You’re so right about ad tech being a crowded space – it’s one of the many reasons we think Basis will change the industry – people are looking for a platform to simplify the way they work! If you’d like to share more, please email us at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent and Development

Found 268 reviews