Bread Financial Reviews

Updated Jun 28, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,004 of over 1,048 reviews

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Bread Financial President and CEO Ralph Andretta
Ralph Andretta
184 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance overall(in 69 reviews)

  • "Offers a great work life balance with great benefits(in 45 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "work life balance was the problem(in 31 reviews)

  • "less physical separation of upper management from general employees - be comfortable in the contact with all employees no matter who(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Amazing Culture that Keeps Impressing

      Mar 24, 2022 - Individual Contributor in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been in a professional working environment for 10 years and this is the first employer who really "sees me." The company helps me achieve what's important to me, counts on me to provide my expertise, both listens and makes me feel heard, includes me in company strategy, and cares enough to recognize successes (big and small) along the way. This sound a little weird... but I'm often shocked at how kind and approachable my colleagues are here, across all teams. Time and distance don't seem to matter -- everyone here is ready to hop on an MS Teams call to talk, explain, or show you how to do something. I'm very grateful to find a place where I feel I can be the professional I've been preparing to be for 10 years. I have arrived!!

      Cons

      My only con to share would be that there are some opportunities in the delivery of IT Hardware and equipment. I needed some extra support in setting everything up and the Help Desk came through... a little extra directions could have been helpful. The Help Desk team has been great about getting me everything I need -- from a conference call "puck", a fancy webcam, dual monitors, etc.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Bread Financial Response

      Aww we're blushing - thanks for the candid review of your experience since joining Bread Financial! Our people are our greatest asset so we are thrilled you're feeling like it is a mutual fit here!

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Pretty great place to work overall

      Jun 28, 2022 - Senior Analyst in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have great bosses who truly care about me. Pay is decent, nothing extravagant.

      Cons

      Company is pretty bad at handling company wide changes and impacts

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good one

      Jun 27, 2022 - Procurement and Contracts Specialist in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company to work !!!

      Cons

      Nothing as of now.. good company!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good Organisation to work and grow

      Jun 13, 2022 - Lead Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, Learning Opportunities, Work life balance, Benefits,

      Cons

      Nothing specific to say, all good

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      great place

      Jun 12, 2022 - BDR 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      people and salary for the most part

      Cons

      no career advancement plan for junior staff

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Bread Financial Response

      We are so glad you are enjoying your time here. We have increased the compensation ratios of U.S. hourly and salaried associates, making Bread Financial more market competitive. If you are interested in career development, go to the company Inview page and check out our Career Destination program and Development Directory for growth opportunities. You can also find information about internal job openings, stretch assignments, and our apprentice program.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Awesome So Far

      Jun 12, 2022 - Collections Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Got hired quick excited with the culture

      Cons

      Fast paced environment, don’t get lazy

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Plenty of work to go around, supportive environment, good benefits

      Jun 10, 2022 - Senior Strategy Manager in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall a great place to work if you are patient and can flex when it gets busy. Good FTO benefits etc.

      Cons

      Can be high pressure depending on where you are positioned.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Bread Financial Response

      We are so glad to have you on our team! Associates love our new Flexible Time Off Policy that launched early 2022. We encourage associates to take the paid time they need away from the office to manage their own needs, recharge and refocus so they can be their best selves!

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A lot of bad, not a lot of good

      Jun 19, 2022 - Pricing Strategy Analyst in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -The people I worked with were nice and easy to get along with for the most part -Hours and Work Life Balance are typically good, but there are some exceptions (see cons for more detail) -Internal mobility is highly encouraged (and often the only way to be promoted) -Good benefits (a huge focal point of management, often at the expense of compensation though) -Easy to stand out as a top performer (but that is not guaranteed to be rewarded) -A lot of opportunities to take on tasks/responsibilities outside the scope of your role (but once again, you are not guaranteed to be rewarded for doing so) -The work itself is interesting. Credit Cards is a niche industry with a lot of unique nuances

      Cons

      -The company is the definition of bureaucratic. Outdated technology is finally being addressed, but is still far away from being implemented -Salaries are low compared to competitors (traditional banks and Fin Techs). Bonuses are insultingly low given the level of work/responsibilities for Pricing. Bonus Targets were increased slightly, but still far off from where they should be. Business Development constantly relies on Pricing to get deals done, yet we do not share in any of the upside they receive. HR is adamant they constantly monitor the market to remain competitive on compensation, but all their announced initiatives have done nothing to address the compensation gap -Career advancement is a complete black hole. Promotion timelines are unclear and undefined. HR has promised they are looking to address this, but I do not have high hopes -For 2022, the company only gave out 3% raises. While this may seem like a normal amount, it is insulting considering the company had a record year in 2021 and inflation was at its highest level since the 1980s -The promotion process is extremely unfair and stacked against newer employees -Communication from certain groups (especially Sales/Business Development) are often unclear and delayed, which creates unnecessarily tight deadlines and often require major revisions to the work product. There is a clear disconnect between Finance and Business Development that creates unnecessary tension and it does not appear that senior leaders are willing to actually address this issue -The work can be very repetitive as senior leaders will ask for countless iterations on work products to arrive at attractive returns, even if it means submitting uncompetitive bids -The company goes through re-orgs what seems like every year, creating uncertainty in some groups and constantly shifting the leadership structure of others -The company has no clue what to do with Bread Pay and post-merger integration pains are continuing with no end in sight -The Bread Financial and Alliance Data brand names carry very little weight. This can make things difficult when applying to jobs at different companies as most people have no clue what Alliance Data is or does (and they definitely don’t know what Bread Financial is) -The company is fixated on controlling costs, which has led to reduced hiring as a way to not increase personnel expenses. As a result, employees are expected to take on a larger workload given the overly aggressive growth expectations communicated by executives, yet compensation remains relatively unchanged. The CFO was asked about compensation during a company-wide meeting and had a very negative reaction to being asked such a question, not a very promising sign… -Median employee salary increased 18% from 2020 to 2021, yet merit raises were only 3% It appears leadership is more than willing to pay for external talent, but remains stingy with internal talent

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Easily the best customer service job I have had

      Jun 2, 2022 - Customer Service Representative in Kansas City, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Benefits and support options, Company structure is easily identified and roles are clearly defined. Company focuses on offering competitive salaries while managing work/life balance, company encourages growth within and upper movement, LGBTQ friendly

      Cons

      Technical support systems can be inconsistent

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Bread Financial Response

      Wow, we're at a loss for words! It's so great that you've found a great Customer Service role where you can be yourself and be successful at the same time. We support associates in their choice of what working environment is best for them, but more importantly, we want their career to fit into the life they desire. Thanks for mentioning that we're LGBTQ friendly! We promote and support our LGBTQ+ associates and their allies in fostering a safe and open environment. Our Pride Business resource Group provides education initiatives, networking opportunities, and volunteer events open to all member regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression. Keep an eye out for our huge float at the PRIDE Parade in Columbus, Ohio this weekend!!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Place to Work!

      May 23, 2022 - Talent Acquisition Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am very pleased with our continuously improving benefit options, ability to work remotely and the addition of 3 more paid holidays. The culture here just keeps getting better and better! I am excited and proud that we have stepped up our tech game, and since our recent rebranding, are now a more "tech-forward" thinking company.

      Cons

      No cons currently. Our leaders are always thinking ahead and doing what needs to be done in order to remain competitive in the market.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Bread Financial Response

      Thank you for your honest review! We are so glad that you have stayed with the company for so many years and hope to keep delivering to you and new employees. We strive to provide employees with the support they need to be successful outside the traditional office, such as a work-at-home stipend and flexible working hours.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,004 Reviews

    Bread Financial Reviews FAQs

    Bread Financial has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 1,048 reviews left anonymously by employees. 68% of employees would recommend working at Bread Financial to a friend and 53% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 8% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Bread Financial employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Bread Financial. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

    68% of Bread Financial employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Bread Financial 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.8 for culture and values and 3.5 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Bread Financial Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Bread Financial? Share Your Experiences

    Bread Financial logo
    or