Arm Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Arm Reviews

Updated 18 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Arm CEO Simon Segars
Simon Segars
533 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "HQ is at Cambridge so for some this may be a downside compared to living in London for example as it is much smaller(in 64 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance might be tricky in some positions although may not be a problem if you enjoy what you are doing(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good place to work,advanced nodes projects

    Cons

    Nothing As of now

    Arm2019-10-18
  2. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff IP Verification Engineer in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great benefit, the company pay is good

    Cons

    no , the company pay is good

    Arm2019-10-11
  3. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Verification Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work Culture, Area of work

    Cons

    Nothing which I remember about

    Continue reading
    Arm2019-10-11

    Arm Response

    October 14, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    We couldn't agree more - we also think Arm is an awesome place to be :)

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (22)

    "Great people, great culture, great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Engineer in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been working at Arm for about a year now. I've been given the opportunities needed to make significant contributions to the projects I've been involved in. Everyone in the office is friendly. The hours you are in the office are quite flexible. The building is great and is located 30 minutes from downtown Cambridge/Boston.

    Cons

    The Boston (Waltham) office is a bit of a satellite office (~50 employees), so that could be a downside depending on what sort of workplace you prefer. There are fewer female employees working here than I would like to expect (~15% of total).

    Arm2019-07-25

    Arm Response

    October 21, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review your working environment in Boston – it’s important we hear from everyone. We couldn’t agree with you more on the gender diversity point – globally it’s an industry-wide challenge. The good news is, we are committed to ensuring Arm is both a diverse and inclusive workplace for everyone. As a result of this commitment 36% of all new starters in the USA so far this fiscal are women. We continue to focus on attraction and retention initiatives in support of this. Recently, one of our female Senior Software Engineers from Arm Boston joined us at the Grace Hopper Conference in Florida – supporting our attraction efforts. We are also working together on an internal engagement programme to support the active Women’s Network and build on our Inclusion Matters Programme, where we provide unconscious bias training. Whilst we have a great ambassador network, we are always keen to have others join us. We are all responsible for contributing to an inclusive and diverse working environment- If you’d like to learn more about how you can contribute, please take a look at the Community and Inclusion posts on Yammer for more details :)

    Continue reading
  5. "Challenging work at a company that cares about its people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineering Manager in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At Arm we have the benefit of working interesting problems and pushing to deliver into competitive markets, while in a culture that earnestly strives to invest in people and their development and happiness.

    Cons

    Sometimes the company still struggles with its rapid growth and can be a bit Cambridge-centric

    Arm2019-10-02

    Arm Response

    October 21, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    We appreciate the review and your observations on the infrastructure of a rapidly growing business.

    Continue reading
  6. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, England

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment. Many things to learn.

    Cons

    A bit difficult to get more responsibilities

    Arm2019-10-16
  7. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time

    Pros

    The company is quite supportive. Management holds open doors policy Sharing of information is great. You could easily know what happens around the company. The company has a great growth potential. Good work-life balance

    Cons

    The package for software developers in Cambridge is not competitive.

    Arm2019-10-16
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Still a Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits 4 week sabbatical every 4 years 4 weeks starting vacation, 5 weeks after 4 years 26 weeks of maternity leave, 8 weeks paternity leave Brilliant engineers that are genuinely helpful Strong advocate of Diversity and Inclusion Internal social network service allows us to be expressive Great stepping stone towards higher paying companies

    Cons

    BURN OUT. If you are an RTL/Verification/Performance Engineer, then you now have to balance between working on multiple projects. When I first joined, engineers talked about life outside of Arm. Now all they talk about is how busy they are with no end in sight. A team that used to do monthly team lunches completely stopped and less time is spent improving the processes when we need it more than ever. Going away lunches for engineers who have been at Arm for 15+ years are more common than team lunches. ATTRITION. Top engineers are leaving including fellows. All of them are leaving to higher paying companies and HR and upper management said they have no plans to change our compensation because “people leave managers” and “no one mentioned compensation on their exit interview.” INNOVATION DECLINE. That feeling of starting work on a new project is gone. Projects are now just adding features on existing designs. There’s no time to rewrite things that are out of date or to revisit things that could be worth improving upon.

    Continue reading
    Arm2019-10-01
  9. "Great people, great culture, exciting tech and innovations!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Culture is very positive and collaborative and there is a strong feeling of teamwork and people really wanting their peers and the company to succeed as a whole - Company REALLY cares about it's employees' well-being, work-life balance and personal development and there are plenty of perks and initiatives that ensure that every year. - Lots of innovation happening all the time so there are always plenty of exciting, cutting edge projects to work on. It's a great opportunity to keep growing, learning and staying on top of the latest and greatest tech developments.

    Cons

    - The rapid growth can sometimes cause miscommunication and disruption of balance between different teams where the ratio of manager-new employee gets too high too quickly and managers are finding it hard to give all employees / projects ample care and attention. - priorities and pipelines can quickly get overcrowded with new initiatives coming from all directions as a result of the fresh influx of new employees and managers wanting to start new initiatives and build big things

    Continue reading
    Arm2019-09-30
  10. "nice place to work but work and life balance is an issue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CPU Design Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    nice ppl to work with

    Cons

    work and life balance is an issue

    Arm2019-10-14
Found 856 reviews
</>Embed