Alpha FX Reviews | Glassdoor.com.hk

Alpha FX Reviews

Updated 12 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
91%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Alpha FX CEO Morgan Tillbrook
Morgan Tillbrook
60 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours can be tough but encourages you to ensure you stay on top of your life and look after yourself(in 10 reviews)

  • "As other reviewers have mentioned, working hours are longer than usual and this can take some getting used to(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A platform to change your life if you're willing to put the hours in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - An environment of high level performers who are willing to invest time in your development. - A core focus on developing you personally and professionally with an expectation to be outside your comfort zone. - A modern, well designed work space that looks across the City and doesn't feel like being in an office. - A culture/attitude to healthy living with a gym in the Alpha office (everybody included in... group PT sessions throughout the week). - A platform to financially set you up for life. - An open minded management/senior team with no feeling that you can't voice your opinion and that progression isn't available just because you're new. - Unbelievable work trips and incentives. - The culture of the team. Really good bunch of people. - The pace in which the business is constantly evolving.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Finding/adjusting to a suitable a work/life balance in the early months of the job. -

    Alpha FX2019-11-12
  2. Helpful (4)

    "A lifetime job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Manager in Paddington, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Surrunded by inspirational skilled thinkers and salesmen * Progression and personal / professional development opportunities vast in comparison to every other company I have worked for * Change/ adaption culutre is instant * You have a voice! * Opportunity to very realistically change your life financially * Healthy working environment with access to a gym * Superb events, incentives and trips * You feel... you are part of something special that is growing at rapid pace

    Show More

    Cons

    *Long hours can be tough but encourages you to ensure you stay on top of your life and look after yourself * The first six months can be very daunting and demanding but the reward once you reach the end outweighs the initial pain siginificantly *The job magnifies your personal and professional strengths and weakness instantly so you must be prepared to confront your truth and deal with it quickly!

    Alpha FX2019-10-02
  3. "Alpha Canada all pros of working for the UK with the excitement of being part of something new"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Strategist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Having worked at competitors for seven years prior to joining, Alpha’s growth and success had always intrigued me. However, hearsay around it being like a cult had always put me off. Reading ‘Ray Dalio’s – Principles’ made me realise how naïve I had been to allow this to deter me from interviewing. Ray Dalio’s Bridgewater is the top performing hedge fund of all time - he talks a lot about how this success is a... double-edged sword and how the attention lead to mischaracterisation. Bridgewater too was referred to as a cult and this hurt their ability to recruit great people. Interviewing with Morgan the CEO reaffirmed that I had been foolish to listen to the rumours. He asked me to help set up the Canadian office and accepting his offer has easily been the best career decision I’ve made. Naturally the first year had its challenges, but after a lot of work Alpha Canada has successfully replicated the strong corporate high performing culture of the UK. Canada is a significant opportunity for the company due to it having similar dynamics to the British market and we are now better positioned to maximise this opportunity.

    Show More

    Cons

    We don’t have an office like the UK (yet!) Apologies, I know I said ‘all of the pros.’

    Alpha FX2019-10-14
  4. Helpful (5)

    "An open space which encourages transparency to ensure you excel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having worked at Alpha for a little over a year, the progression and direction that the company has moved in is truly exciting and something that I can say I'm proud to be a part of it. I started as one of five women in a space where I was encouraged to stand up and take control. In just a year, there are now over 20 women in the business, all of whom are independent yet supportive of one another. We have also... recently moved offices from WeWork to our own space in a brand new building, which is honestly outstanding. The design is so aesthetically pleasing, having plenty of plants and amenities; it almost represents a hotel more than an office. The handling of problems such as miscommunication is also done remarkably well by the CEO. He addresses things head first and prioritises the happiness and wellbeing of Alpha employees alongside the progression of the business as a whole. Lastly, my colleagues are all people I look up to, respect and whose company I enjoy, considering many of them to also be friends. Coming into work each day to work alongside them is a pleasure.

    Show More

    Cons

    The job requires flexibility to ensure you can meet the demands of all the departments: corporate; institutions; Alpha Pay; and Canada. This can involve having to put in extra hours or adopting an adaptable mindset to assist with the growth of specific areas. However, people do always recognise when you go the extra mile and as our team grows, the pressure of this will decrease.

    Advice to Management

    As the company continues to grow, hands on management will become increasingly important. Although this isn't a threat to the culture, there is a concern that the element of a flat hierarchy could become disrupted, creating a bridge between senior and new employees. I don't doubt the handling of this, but just continue to do what you have so far; maintain an open space where all employees have a voice to the senior... management.

    Show More
    Alpha FX2019-09-01
  5. Helpful (3)

    "A forward thinking company and inspirational team of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Derivatives Operations Analyst in Paddington, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I feel lucky to be part of a team that is so successful and driven yet maintains such humility. Yes we work hard, but that makes it so much more satisfying when we reach our targets or goals and celebrate as a team. As a woman who was new to FX I was nervous to join a highly male dominated industry, but Alpha are just as invested in women’s career growth as they are in anyone who has aspiration and drive. It feels... good to be part of a company where senior management care about all the individuals in the firm and everyone wants you to be successful and will give you all the resources to do so, it’s like a family. The new office is a visual representation of Alpha’s culture and shows what can be achieved by the company, it has an in house barber and a gym which I can see being the start of a trend across many companies.

    Show More

    Cons

    The hours are longer than the average, which means sometimes I feel like I miss out on meeting up with friends in the evenings. But you get used to it and now I really don’t mind it.

    Advice to Management

    With the business growing as quickly as it is and will continue to be, to not allow the culture to be diluted.

    Alpha FX2019-09-04
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Opportunity to challenge yourself and be a part of an amazing team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time

    Pros

    Uncapped earning potential. Also a chance to be a part of an amazing, hard working team and an environment where everyone pushes each other to be better every day. Success will come with hard work and consistency.

    Cons

    As with any sales job, you won’t be successful if you aren’t willing to put in the time and effort every day.

    Alpha FX2019-08-15
  7. Helpful (3)

    "An environment that inspires high performance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Settlements 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Recognised and heard from the moment you join and continually throughout your career. With a strong emphasis on culture, which is driven by the CEO and reinforced by each employee, you are surrounded by ambitious and exceptionally talented people from the front to back office. Constantly pushed to reach your potential and given the tools to enable you to reach them. Radical candour can be seen as a negative,... however, the flat structure and the ability to speak your mind to all employees creates a positive working environment encouraging an open and honest culture.

    Show More

    Cons

    It is easy to say the long hours but a few weeks/ months in the hours aren’t an issue and the days fly by.

    Alpha FX2019-08-06
  8. Helpful (6)

    "An incredible company that I'm so proud to be part of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FX Analyst in Paddington, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Alpha has provided me with such an amazing opportunity, and I'm so proud to be part of the team. The company is full of exciting, talented, driven people, that continue to empower each other and genuinely want others to do well, which is so motivating. Male/Female, young/old, it doesn't matter, as long as you work hard you will be recognised and rewarded - which is a breath of fresh air for this industry.

    Cons

    I struggle to think of anything significant, yes we work long hours but this is just the norm to me now and the culture and rewards outweigh this considerably.

    Alpha FX2019-07-23
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Alpha Canada - Equally rewarding and challenging opprotunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Enormous room for growth in Alpha's first overseas office. Uncapped compensation. Strong team dynamic. Lots of emphasis on personal development and consistent sales training from Senior Management

    Cons

    Company is very transparent in the interview process on what is expected, which to be fair is a lot more than most jobs. This job is not for everyone, if your looking to have your hand held and ego patted this is not the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Alpha's business model from the UK is proven.

    Alpha FX2019-07-08
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great opportunity for hard workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Ability to work in a fast paced environment with a great team - Excellent development and growth opportunities - Hard work pays off mentality - Upper management isn't far removed (CEO and SR Partners are very involved in development) - Opportunity to travel around Canada and Europe -great opportunity for females in finance as it is typically a male dominated industry - had no prior experience in finance or... FX and it hasn’t hindered my success

    Show More

    Cons

    - with great opportunity comes a lot of pressure. If you can’t take the heat get out of the kitchen - start up in Canada (with every start up comes some growing pains)

    Advice to Management

    -keep addressing growing pains of being a startup while keeping the fun startup vibe

    Alpha FX2019-06-24
Found 70 reviews